description of image

Databases Schedule - Spring 2006

-->

Featured Resources: Databases

American Periodicals Series Online

APS Online contains digitized images of over 1,500 titles and 7 million pages of American magazines and journals, from the first American magazines, published in 1741, to the advent of American involvement in World War II - 200 years of American history as recorded in magazines, journals, and newspapers.

The journals in this collection cover three broad periods:

  • Eighty-nine journals published between 1740 and 1800 offer insights into America's transition from a British colony to an independent nation. Titles include Massachusetts Magazine, which published America's first short stories, and Thomas Paine's Pennsylvania Magazine, which reported on inventions. One of the first mass printings of the Declaration of Independence, a letter by George Washington on the crucial Battle of Trenton, and the thoughts of Benjamin Franklin are among the highlights of content from this period.
  • More than 900 titles from the first 60 years of the nineteenth century showcase "the golden age of American periodicals." General interest magazines, children's publications, and more than 20 journals for women are among the historically-significant content that also includes the serialization of Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom's Cabin in National Era. Also available are hard-to-find materials, such as Edgar Allan Poe's contributions to the Southern Literary Messenger, as well as the first appearances of Nathaniel Hawthorne's stories in New England Magazine, and Margaret Fuller's contributions to the Dial.
  • One hundred eighteen periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras reflect the nation in turmoil and growth, and titles from the 1880s through 1900 capture the settling of the West and the emergence of modern America. Early professional journals, including Publications of the American Economic Association, popular titles such as Scribner's Monthly issued by publishing houses, celebrations of Americana in Ladies' Home Journal, thoroughly-researched investigative journalism in McClure's, and the incisive political and social commentary of Puck illustrate the variety of the American experience.
Because the database contains digitized images of periodical pages, researchers can see all of the original typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts exactly as they were originally published.

For more information on resources in American history or literature, contact Adam Rosenkranz, history librarian, or Gale Burrow, librarian for British & American literature.

ICPSR Downloadable Data

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) holds the world's largest collection of computer-readable social science data. These data can be used for both research and instructional activities, and are now just a click away. ICPSR Direct provides direct access to ICPSR data holdings for Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff. First time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account; thereafter, you will need your email address and password to download data. Search the archive to find data of interest to you.

Assistance in locating, accessing, and analyzing data is available. Please contact Ruth Schooley or Sheree Fu if you need help in any of these areas.

Two Resources for Economics & Finance

Oxford E-books in Economics and Finance
The Libraries have recently subscribed to a collection of electronic books in the fields of economics and finance, a subset of "Oxford Scholarship Online" which is produced by Oxford University Press. Topics covered in this collection include development, growth, econometrics, economic history, economic systems, financial economics, history of economic thought, macro- and monetary economics, microeconomics, public and welfare economics, South and East Asia, international topics, crisis studies, sustainability, global and national macroeconometric modeling, globalization, labor conditions, and more.

Go directly to Oxford Scholarship Online: Economics and Finance to see titles, authors, and sub-discipline lists of the items included in this collection. Individual titles are represented in the Blais online catalog, as well, and may be searched by author, title, or keyword. Also in Blais, you may key in the title Oxford Scholarship Online, and you will see the list of titles displayed; at that point, you may click on individual titles to bring up the book's record. Within each book record, there is a link to connect to the full text of that book.

International Financial Statistics
International Financial Statistics (IFS) is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.

Capabilities of IFS Online:

  • browsing the directory tree
  • drilling down through the structure of the database
  • selecting either individual time series or groupings of time series within a table presentation
  • saving selected data and metadata in a variety of formats, including a spreadsheet
  • saving and loading a query of selected time series

Access IFS at www.imfstatistics.org

For more information on resources in economics, contact Linda Gunter. For more information on sources for statistics and data, contact Sheree Fu.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences

The International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (IESBS) is a comprehensive resource providing an excellent place to begin your research in sociology, psychology, economics, social work, political science, history, religion, ethnic studies, education and other related disciplines.

This online resource contains over 4,000 articles and includes over 90,000 bibliographical references. The dynamic reference linking within this encyclopedia will take you directly from a cited reference within an article to the source abstract. There is also internal cross referencing between articles in the encyclopedia, as well as linking to journal articles when available.

Within the IESBS you can browse a subject area or search for a specific word or phrase within the entire encyclopedia. There is also an extensive subject index.

Using the IESBS, a search on the topic of Adoption will lead you to further articles on "Children and the Law," "Family as Institution," and "Repartnering and Stepchildren" among many others. The references within the article on Adoption would lead you to "The President's Initiative on Adoption and Foster Care," and testimony before the House Ways and Means Committee on child welfare, as well as citations to books and journal articles.

As stated in the introduction to the IESBS, "In today's language -- and using the perspective offered in the master of all modern encyclopedic work -- encyclopedias are 'self-contained reference works' with two aims: to include up-to-date knowledge about a particular discipline or group of disciplines and to make this knowledge conveniently accessible." This encyclopedia strives to fulfill this goal with articles that contain clear definitions of the concepts, changes in the focus or emphasis of the concept over time, emphases in current theory and research, methodological issues or problems evident in the concept, and probable future directions of theory and research.

With this information in mind, next time you are researching a topic, think of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences as a place to begin your search.

For more information on the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, please contact Cindy Snyder.

Digital National Security Archive

The Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) is from the National Security Archive, a non-profit research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The NSA has used the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) to obtain almost half a million pages, 61 thousand documents, on national security issues. These documents, primary research material on public policy, are digitally scanned and searchable. Some of the scanned documents are complete with the "Classified" stamp overstamped with "Declassified;" some have sensitive information blacked out. DNSA also provides good background material, explaining the context of the documents.

Documents are organized in collections, ranging from "Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973-1990" to "The Kissinger Transcripts: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977." Also notable are collections on "The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962," "Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968-2002," and "Presidential Directives on National Security from Harry Truman to George W. Bush."

For an interesting search, type in "September 11 attacks (2001)" and browse the results. Fascinating!

For more information on this and other resources in political science and public policy, contact Ruth Schooley.

Web of Science

Web of Science is a citation index for approximately 8700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals across the sciences and social sciences. Web of Science's specialty is linking scholarly, peer reviewed literature together via citations, enabling users to browse ideas forward and backwards through time. Web of Science is searchable by keywords, and also has special input fields specific to searching citations. Citation searching allows users to see article bibliographies easily as well as to quickly identify additional articles that cite the article in question. Because of the citation interlinking, the Web of Science "find related articles" search option from the abstract page results in articles relevant not by classified subject headings, but by citations the articles have in common. This type of search in conjunction with a subject specific database "related articles" search, which is based on common subject headings, results in two different pathways into related literature browsing.

In addition to citation searching, Web of Science offers many other features. The analyze tool ranks results by author, publication date, institution name, and subject categories, providing context to the search results. Web of Science also has a citation alert feature that will email users any time a selected article is cited. Web of Science uses current open URL technology, allowing direct linking to full text, online articles the Libraries' subscribe to and the records are easily imported into RefWorks.

Web of Science is available to students, faculty, and staff of The Claremont Colleges and indexes literature across multiple subjects back as far as 1955. Visit Web of Science and explore it for yourself!

For more information about Web of Science, please contact Jezmynne Westcott.

Resources in American History

Many of the Libraries' databases provide access to full-text primary sources. Here are a few that will be of interest to scholars of American history, as well as literary scholars and philosophers. The newest of these is Historical Statistics of the United States, Millennial Edition, a complete reworking and updating of two volumes published by the US government in 1976. This source covers the entire history of the United States from colonial times in the form of statistics on virtually any topic relevant to the social and political fabric of the country. In the last few years, we've also acquired other primary source databases valuable for the study of American history and American legal history: The US Serial Set Online, Early American Newspapers, Early American Imprints I and II, and HEIN Online. The US Serial Set, accessible through Lexis-Nexis Congressional, is a complete set of historic US government documents from 1789 to 1969. Early American Newspapers has the full-text of over 700 newspapers published from 1690 to 1876, representing 24 states and colonies. Upon completion, the database will include over 1000 newspapers. Early American Imprints I (Evans) and Early American Imprints II (Shaw-Shoemaker), provide access to materials printed in in the United States, 1639-1819. HEIN Online provides access to such materials as US law journals back to the 19th century, the federal register back to 1936, and international and US treaties back to 1776. Also included are Supreme Court slip opinions and many classic legal texts.

For more information, please contact Adam Rosenkranz.

The Gerritsen Collection

The Gerritsen Collection of Women's History, 1543-1945, is possibly the greatest single source for the study of international women's history and the feminist movement. The Gerritsen Collection was begun in the late 19th century by Dr. Aletta H. Jacobs (1854-1929), the first woman university student and woman doctor in the Netherlands. Dr. Jacobs was also the founder of the first birth control clinic in the world (1878), a leader in the Dutch and international women's suffrage movement for 50 years, and an ardent pacifist as well. She and her husband Carl V. Gerritsen, an alderman of Amsterdam and a member of the Dutch Parliament, moved easily on an international stage and had the resources to collect material close to their political and social interests. During the 25 years of her medical practice in Amsterdam, where she specialized in treating women and children, Dr. Jacobs built up a collection of approximately 2,000 volumes, with many French, German, Italian, and older English works. At the time of Mr. Gerritsen's death and Dr. Jacob's retirement from medicine in 1903, the collection was sold to the John Crerar Library in Chicago. The Crerar Library made significant additions of many new titles, particularly those dealing with the American women's movement and titles published in the Midwest between 1880 and 1920.

Collection coverage:

The Gerritsen Collection online delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms.

Since Dr. Jacobs was an active suffragist, the collection is particularly rich in materials dealing with women's rights. In addition, topics included are the nature and role of women, the historical and legal status of women, prostitution, the education of girls and women, biography and autobiography, and secondary materials on women writers, marriage and the family, employment of women, women and religion, and women's voluntary associations. To a lesser extent topics such as divorce, women in politics, women's reformatories, and women as composers, musicians, and artists are represented. Titles are in English, German, French, Dutch, Italian, Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, Latin, Greek, Spanish, Portuguese, Polish, Hungarian, Russian, Czechoslovakian, and Arabic. Titles from the 19th and 20th centuries are well represented with a lesser representation of titles from the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries.